White Chicken Chili

White_Chicken_ChiliMore soul food… White Chicken Chili.

A few weekends ago, my mother helped me roast my first whole chicken. A pastured chicken from the local co-op our family participates in. It was momentous.

The idea of roasting an entire bird was greatly intimidating to me (I’m truly a vegetarian at heart, but my husband doesn’t desire to go without). So, I was really grateful to have my mother’s gentle guidance and advice.

I had plenty of chicken leftover, along with the carcass. The carcass got thrown in the slow cooker with filtered water, apple cider vinegar, herbs, and veggies for homemade, healing stock.

I used the leftover chicken to make White Chicken Chili.

Recipe adapted from Cheeseslave. I chose to use butter as my fat. Omitted the green chiles. Substituted the Red Pepper Flakes with a milder Chipotle Rub, for the tots. And added about 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese during the last 15-20 minutes of cooking time to help thicken the chili.

I served as she suggested with a dollop of un-strained yogurt and Garden of Eatin’ tortilla chips.

I was pleasantly surprised by how many meals and options one chicken provided. Definitely being integrated bi-weekly into our monthly meal plan.

2 thoughts on “White Chicken Chili

Leave something lovely.

