Reflecting

Foundry_Stream

nourishing – Enjoying all the fresh produce. Freezing lots of fresh, organically grown strawberries for future smoothies and use. Mandolin slicing fresh radishes picked up from the Farmers’ Market and roasting into crisp chips with walnut oil and pink himalayan salt. Been drawn to lots of meatless dishes lately, favorite being vegan chickpea tacos. Feeling inspired to try a walnut taco meat mixture in the near future. I’m open to suggestions of favorite recipes, tips, and tricks on such.

reading – Just finished, “The Fault In Our Stars” by John Green. Although eloquently written, I didn’t care for it. Sad and depressing, ending too soon and leaving much to be desired. However, I wanted to read the book before seeing the movie and accomplished my goal. Currently working on finishing, “Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (and other concerns)” by Mindy Kaling. It’s a book I received in an exchange with a sweet Cali friend I met on Instagram. In all honesty, I didn’t think I was going to like it – but I do! A witty humor and she really does remind me of a younger Tina Fey as the reviews suggest. And Taproot. Finally took the leap and purchased a year’s subscription. Best decision ever. So thoroughly enjoyed the two articles I got to read so far of my first issue and so many left yet to enjoy (Yay for indie publications with no ads!).

creating – Stumbled upon this handmade dollhouse using recycled, reclaimed wood and am inspired to build one for my daughter, despite my complete lack of woodworking skills.

nurturing – Close, intimate relationships with family and friends. Personal connection. I’m still without Facebook and most recently also deactivated my Twitter account. Choosing to keep my Instagram, as I’ve formed bonds there with so many creative, encouraging, inspiring women. But placing my focus on a slow, simple summer with my family. My mother will soon be starting classes towards a new career path. My little brother soon leaving for a two-week missions trip to Europe. My little sister leaving the end of this year to serve with the Peace Corps in Morocco. I just want to enjoy every second before all this change and shift in routine limits the amount of time we have together.

watching – “TINY: A Story About Living Small.” Next time you’re folding laundry or washing dishes, pull this up on Netflix. A ridiculously inspiring, enlightening documentary on simple, small living in our age of mansion living.

This just left me in a bit of awe.

This. The music video itself is really freakin’ weird and I chose not to interpret the lyrics literally, but felt the song itself was rad.

What have you been enjoying lately?

**Above photo taken earlier this week of a stream running through the foundry of my husband’s childhood hometown.


One thought on “Reflecting

  1. Those were interesting videos! Love the beat and makes me want to dance 🙂 love your entry here in general…. all of your food talk sounds yummy. Moving into our new place next week and so happy about having free reign over the kitchen….waiting to try some new things and whip out my raw food “cookbooks” . Glad you’re taking it easy and slow this summer. I love everything that you share, xo

Leave something lovely.